By Ilona Kauremszky

Q: What does Southeast Asia comprise of?

A: Stretching an area roughly over 4-million, Southeast Asia consists of 10 countries and includes Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar (formerly known as Burma), the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

According to the Columbia Encyclopedia, the name “Southeast Asia” came into popular use after World War II. In 1967 the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was established in Bangkok by five countries: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Years later, Brunei Darussalam joined in 1984; Vietnam in 1995; Laos and Burma (now Myanmar) in 1997, and Cambodia in 1999. To learn more about the ASEAN organization and its member countries you can visit the organization online at


dispatches | q&a | photos | fork | newsletter | archives | links | search | store | submissions | about | contact | home

All text & photos © 2002-08.